CALNE Bowls Club staged a special celebration match on their Recreation Ground green last Saturday in memory of Pauline Watson Watson, who died in December 2012, was one of the founder members of the ladies section at Calne in 1962 and a stalwart member of the club for 50 years.

She had been Wiltshire Ladies president in 2000 and was due to be the county’s lady president again this year.

The game against Wiltshire Ladies eventually had to be abandoned after only ten of the 21 ends had been played.

“Despite the weather the day still went very well,” said Calne president and secretary George Henderson.

“It had rained in the morning and the green was wet and very pushy so when the big black cloud came overhead and it started to rain heavily we decided to abandon the game in everyone’s best interests.

“The results at the time we stopped doesn’t really matter as the occasion was the winner.

“We have had several letters complimenting us on the day and what a good send-off we gave Pauline.”

Henderson added: “Pauline had been planning to have this match as county president against the ladies anyway so it was still appropriate we still held the match but as a celebration game in memory of her.”


CALNE - Jane Bowker-Praed, Sue Buckland, June Burry, Ann Chatwin, Christine Cooper (c), Sheila Isaac, Mavis Jenkins, Gill Rickards, Dorothy Ross, Margaret Roughly, Jean Spence, Sheila Taylor and Gladys Webster plus 11 guests - Marguerite Alexander, Ruth Body (both Devizes), Delia Godwin (Spencer Melksham), Eileen Holdway, Gillian Lillicrap (both Bradford-on-Avon), Mary Jones (Devizes), Sue Raymond, Yvonne Savin (both Chippenham Town), Pat Sharp (Amesbury), Joan Tugwell (Trowbridge Westbourne) and Irene Wood (Holt).

WILTSHIRE - Rink 1: June Coyle (North Wilts), Jenny Couch (Spencer Melksham), Pat Murray (Wootton Bassett) & Margaret Annetts (Salisbury). Rink 2: Rose Ellis (Amesbury), Rosemary Fitzpatrick (Chippenham T), Cathy Burrows (Wilton) & June Corbett (Swindon Town Gardens). Rink 3: Christobel Francis (S Melk), Joyce Litherland (NW), Irene Button (Chip T) & Joan Coleman (Ames). Rink 4: Eileen Hawker (S Melk), Dawn Edwards (Avon), Nancy Oliver (Sal) & Fizz Mace (NW). Rink 5: Viv Baskerville, Isobel Dawson (both Chip T), Wendy Gaisford (Devizes) & Mary Buckle (Ames). Rink 6: Ann Hindley (Wilton), Sue Baker (Cricklade), Jill Webb (Wroughton) & Marcia Cottle (S Melksham).