FC BUSCOTS were among the big winners as the Chippenham & District Sunday League celebrated the conclusion of its 48th season last night.

Mark Camacho’s Devizes-based club picked up a combined £350 after topping the league’s fair play charts and winning the Division Two title.

They were one of 36 clubs and individuals honoured at Chippenham’s Gladstone Club, in conjunction with sponsors S.K. Fruits Ltd and the Gazette & Herald.

Buscots also proved that they could play fairly as well as hard.

After topping the third division table last term but finished well down the fair play table, they turned things around this term as they picked up a combined average mark of 8.88 from referees and opponents – a huge increase from last term’s 7.73 – to clinch their divisional, as well as the overall, fair play award.

Semington Rovers, in their final season in the league topped the Premier Division for a third successive season.

Twelve new clubs are poised to join the league , which will operate with just four divisions for the first time since 1971 next season.

Biddestone Stonewood, Buttercross FC, Cannings Rangers, Club 54, Corsham Park, Evana Designs FC, FC Bradford, London Road FC, The Grapes United, The Plough FC, Trowbridge Wanderers (Sunday) and Westbury Conservative Club, are likely to be involved when when the 2014/15 campaign gets underway on August 31.

Devizes based Adam Bewley will take on the role of Registrations Secretary from Derek Leppard.

Premier Division winners: The Castle FC; Runners up: Westbury Rangers.

Division One winners: Prestige Bodyworks; Runners up: White Horse A.

Division Two winners: FC Buscots; Runners up: Miller Sports A.

Division Three winners: Sportzcoach Dragonz United; Runners-up: Melksham Cosmos.

Division Four winners: Corsham Centre Youth; Runners up: Oakhill FC.

Eric Hughes Memorial Knockout Cup (sponsored by AM Print & Copy): Corsham Centre Youth 1 The Castle FC 1, AET, Centre won 4-3 on penalties.

WG Parr Trophy (sponsored by Westernsport Trophies of Chippenham): The Castle FC 3 Sutton Benger 0.


Premier Division: 1 Semington Rovers, 2 AFC Melksham, 3 The Castle FC.

Division One: 1 White Horse A, 2 Kings Arms (All Cannings), 3 Prestige Bodyworks.

Division Two: 1 FC Buscots, 2 Miller Sports A, 3 Potterne CFC.

Division Three: 1 Wren FC, 2 Pig & Whistle United, 3 Crossblades FC.

Division Four: 1 Cavalier FC, 2 The Mallard FC & White Horse A.

Overall winner: FC Buscots.