CHRISTIAN Malford were the big winners as the Chippenham & District Sunday League officially brought the curtain down on its 51st season with a presentation night and annual meeting at Chippenham's Gladstone Club on Wednesday night.

The second division side pocketed more than £300 after topping the fair play charts and walking away with the Top Club Assistant Referees’ award, Grant Christie’s side being one of 37 clubs and individuals rewarded for their achievements.

Malford have ended their participation in the league, but bowed out with the fair play accolade, courtesy of a combined average mark of 8.28 from both referees and fellow clubs, collecting £100 plus a further £150 as overall winners.

With backing from sponsors the Gazette & Herald and Shoestrings, more than £2,250 in awards was handed out, the Gazette & Herald-sponsored Golden Boot award being won by Faded FC’s Matt Minnis, who scored 55 league goals beating closest challenger Leon Greenland, from The Dursley Arms, by 10 clear goals.

Former Frome and Bradford Town striker Minnis, 30, works at Faded Barbers in Trowbridge and scored three or more goals in 11 of his 17 league outings, his highest individual tally of eight coming against The Foresters Arms. He added a further 8 goals in four cup matches.

Jamie-Lloyd Davies, from Calne BFC, captured the player of the season accolade.

Davies was the clear winner as he received 11 nominations from his 17 league appearances.

The 27 year-old who lives in Calne has made over 200 appearances and scored over 100 goals for clubs that include North Star, Bradford News, British Lion, The Wren and his present club Calne BFC.

Davies, the hospitality supervisor at Beversbrook Sports Facility in Calne, has been involved with football for many years and holds a UEFA B Coaching license and FA B goalkeeping license.

He was previously a coach at Bristol City and Chippenham Town as well as being Calne Town U18s manager. 

Calne United’s Peter Horne received the Best Secretary award for his outstanding work with the third division outfit, who only joined the league in 2015.

For the first time since the 1985/86 season the Gordon Blatchford award was shared, with retiring league secretary Frank Harvey and referees' appointment secretary Gary Stonham being joint winners.

The award is presented annually by the league to an individual, or club who has gone that extra mile to give something back to grass roots football.

Harvey was a referee on the league before taking on the role of aecretary in 2007.

Stonham joined the management committee in 2002 as the Assistant to then Referees’ Appointment Secretary Pete Cox before taking over the role himself in 2006 and also stepped into the post of Discipline Secretary to cover the last few weeks of the season.

All divisional winners received £100 each, the Premier Division victors Bremhill View receiving £125, while the runners up collected £50 each.

Trowbridge-based referee Sam Gooding picked up the top senior referee award for a first time. The 39-year-old, who has been officiating for just five years on various local leagues, won the best junior referee award in 2014/15.

Westbury-based official Neil Taylor walked away with his first junior award, having started refereeing in 2011.

Long service awards were presented to referees Neville Dennett, Neil Hickton, Anthony Frith and Maurice Chilcott, who have been officiating on the league for 20 years.

Harvey and treasurer Doreen Rugg were also recognised for their service to the league, as was fixture secretary and chairman, Andy Hillier.




Winners: Bremhill View FC; Runners-up: Corsham CC Wildcats.


Winners: Pheasant FC; Runners-up: The Grapes United.


Winners: The Dursley Arms; Runners-up: Semington FC.


Winners: Box Rovers; Runners-up: Faded FC.


Premier Division: 1 Bath Road FC, 2 White Horse (Sunday) A, 3 Somerford FC.

Division One: 1 Pheasant FC, 2 Oakhill FC, 3 Calne BFC.

Division Two: 1 Christian Malford FC, 2 Semington FC, 3 Old Road FC.

Division Three: 1 White Horse (Sunday) B FC, 2 Box Rovers FC, 3 Fox & Hounds .

Overall winner: Christian Malford.

PLAYER OF THE SEASON (Sponsored by The Gazette & Herald): Jamie-Lloyd Davies (Calne BFC).


(Overall winner sponsored by The Gazette & Herald)

Premier Division: Mark Dolman (Bremhill View FC); Division One: Josh Legg (Pheasant FC); Division Two: Leon Greenland (The Dursley Arms FC); Division Three: Matt Minnis (Faded FC).

Overall winner: Matt Minnis (Faded FC).


Premier Division: Corsham Youth; Division One: Lavington Rangers FC; Division Two: Christian Malford; Division Three: Box Rovers.

Overall winner: Christian Malford

FC BEST SENIOR REFEREE (sponsored by Shoestrings Chargrill): Sam Gooding.

BEST JUNIOR REFEREE (sponsored by Shoestrings Chargrill): Neil Taylor.

BEST CLUB SECRETARY (sponsored by The Gazette & Herald): Peter Horne (Calne United).

GORDON BLATCHFORD AWARD: Frank Harvey and Gary Stonham.

KNOCKOUT CUP (sponsored by A M Print & Copy): The Dursley Arms FC 2 Corsham CC Wildcats FC 1

WG PARR TROPHY (sponsored by Ken Clarke): Somerford FC 3 Lavington Rangers FC 0.

SUBSIDIARY CUP (sponsored by Gooding Accounts): Bremhill View FC 3 FC Bradford 2.

WILTSHIRE SUNDAY CUP: The Dursley Arms 9 AFC Gas 0.