JOSH Lewis and James Phillips will make their Bath debuts in the club’s first pre-season game against Bristol Rugby at Clifton RFC on Saturday (2.30pm).

Lewis, who joined this summer from Welsh Premiership outfit Ebbw Vale will wear the number 10 jersey, whilst Phillips faces his former club in the second row alongside Elliott Stooke.

Darren Allinson will link up with Lewis in the half-back combination, after re-joining the club on a permanent contract from London Irish.

Matt Banahan starts his 11th season in the first team on the left wing, with Jack Wilson on the opposite flank and Tom Homer at full-back.

Rory Jennings and Max Clark play in the centres in the first of three pre-season games before the Aviva Premiership season gets underway next month.

Matt Garvey captains the side at blindside flanker, with World U20 finallists Josh Bayliss and Zach Mercer at number seven and eight respectively.

Nick Auterac and Jack Walker return to first team action, with Shaun Knight completing the front row trio.

Wil Partington could make his first team bow after signing a long-term Academy contract in June from the replacements' bench.

Phillips said: “It will be a massive game for me playing against my old club, who are close to my heart.

"Playing for Bath now, I want to lay down a marker and show Todd (Blackadder, director of rugby), the rest of the coaches and the players what I’m about.

“For Bristol, they’ll want to prove to Pat Lam what they’re about, so I think it’s going to be a tough game.

"Watching where Pat Lam has coached before, his teams like to play with a lot of width. Bristol pride themselves on having a big, strong forward pack. In the scrums and mauls, we’ll have to be right on the money.”

Bath: 15. Tom Homer, 14. Jack Wilson, 13. Max Clark, 12. Rory Jennings, 11. Matt Banahan, 10. Josh Lewis, 9. Darren Allinson, 1. Nick Auterac, 2. Jack Walker, 3. Shaun Knight, 4. Elliott Stooke, 5. James Phillips, 6. Matt Garvey (captain), 7. Josh Bayliss, 8. Zach Mercer.

Replacements: 16. Nathan Charles (guest player), 17. Beno Obano, 18. Kane Palma-Newport, 19. Luke Charteris, 20. Guy Mercer, 21. Chris Cook, 22. Will Homer, 23. Rhys Priestland, 24. Harry Davies, 25. Wil Partington, 26. Darren Atkins, 27. Ben Tapuai, 28. Levi Davis (guest player).