EIGHT members of the Dorset & Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Service were presented with awards at its annual ceremony at The Guildhall in Salisbury on Thursday.

Long Service and Good Conduct Medals were presented on behalf of the Queen by the Lord Lieutenant of Dorset Angus Campbell and the Vice Lord Lieutenant of Wiltshire William Wyldbore-Smith.

Seven members of staff from the Wiltshire area received their Long Service and Good Conduct medal from William Wyldbore-Smith.

They were Temporary Crew Manager Mark Braithwaite, Marlborough fire station; Station Manager David Geddes, Operational Effectiveness & Incident Ground Technology Officer; Crew Manager Steve Halliday, Calne fire station; Paul Jenkins, Operational Communications Manager, Potterne office; Station Manager Wayne Jones, On-Call Review; Firefighter Dale Sugg, on-call, Chippenham fire station; Watch Manager Guy Tadman, Trowbridge fire station.

A Young Achiever of the Year Award was presented to Callum Derrick, for his involvement with Trowbridge fire cadets.

Chief Fire Officer Ben Ansell said: “Our annual awards ceremony is our chance to take stock, recognise the extraordinary work being done in all parts of our organisation, and to feel real pride in how we help individuals, businesses, partner agencies and the wider communities across Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole, Dorset, Swindon and Wiltshire to live safer and healthier lives. It was an excellent evening, and my thanks go to everyone who attended for their support.”

With the Service’s headquarters based in Salisbury, the Guildhall has hosted the annual awards since the organisation came into being in 2016.

This year’s event was sponsored by Capita, Bristol Uniforms, Active Informatics and Advantage Digital Print.

Other distinguished guests included the High Sheriff of Wiltshire, David Scott; the High Sheriff of Dorset, Philip Warr; Peter Holland, Chief Inspector Crown Premises Fire Safety at the Home Office; Mayor of Salisbury, Cllr Mike Osment; members of Dorset & Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Authority; representatives of partner agencies such as local councils and the police; and families and friends of those receiving medals and awards.