PREMIER Division leaders Corsham CC Wildcats lifted the A M Print and Copy-sponsored Knockout Cup by beating Division Two title contenders Box Rovers 5-3 on penalties at Chippenham's Hardenhuish Park.

Box were not overawed by their top-flight opposition and took an early lead after eight minutes when Nick Chandler converted after a goalmouth scramble.

Corsham were forced to change keepers shortly after when Joe King was injured. Sam Thomson taking over between the sticks but they equalised immediately after half-time when Sammy Jordan scored with a fine flick over the keeper.

On 55 minutes Corsham were in front when Jordan, with his back to goal, scored with an excellent overhead kick giving Box keeper Luke McFarlane no chance.

Box came back into the game with some patient football and after 70 minutes made it 2-2, Leigh Rogers scoring from inside the area. Darrin Moss saw his free kick hit the crossbar for Corsham and man of the match McFarlane pulling off a string of saves to defy them to keep it at 2-2.

Corsham again looked more likely to score in the first half of extra time but McFarlane again denied them with two excellent saves.

With the second half of extra time four minutes old, Box took the lead when Dan Harvey headed home.

However, in the last minute Corsham captain Alex Hillier rose to head home an equaliser to dent their hopes and take the final to penalties.

Both teams converted their first spot-kick but while Corsham converted their second, keeper Thomson saving Box’s second penalty. Both teams converted their next two and Thomson scored Corsham’s fifth to wrap up victory, Lewis McCarron, Adam Mitchell and Darrin Moss having also netted.

Laura Morgan, who has been refereeing for the past three seasons and was recently promoted to level six, took charge of the final, the first female official to do so in the showpiece occasion in the league's 51-year history.