FRESHFORD United won the Knockout Cup, sponsored by Chantry Digital Ltd, in the Trowbridge Windows and Conservatories Trowbridge & District League after edging out Heytesbury 1-0 in the final at Meadow Lane Westbury.

United were dealt a blow early on when they lost captain Nick Ross to a head injury after 15 minutes, but the score remained goalless at the break.

The second half followed the same pattern until the 75th minutes when Freshford finally got the breakthrough. Heytesbury defender Toby Boulton attempted to head clear a ball over the top, but unfortunately guided it past goalkeeper Sam Spatt into his own net.

Heytesbury pushed forward for the equaliser but could not find a way past a stubborn Freshford back-line.

The John Ford Memorial man of the match was United's David Percival.

Division One

FRESHFORD also secured runners-up spot in the league's top division after a convincing 6-1 win over Hilperton United.

Leading 3-0 at half-time thanks to goals by Nick Ross, Alfie Little and an own goal, Freshford increased their lead in the second half with further strikes from Tom Rooney, Jamie Parlour and Dean Ranger. Luke Murden got Hilperton’s sole reply from the penalty spot.

Division Two

CALNE Town Reserves finished their league season with a resounding 3-0 win over Marshfield.

A Marcus Lovsey header set Calne on their way, followed by a neat finish from Brett Fairclough just before the break. Fairclough scored his second and Calne’s third in the second half.

Town are currently third in the table but will finish the season as runners-up should Marshfield lose against champions Warminster United by more than a two-goal margin in their final game next weekend.

Spring Cup

HEYTESBURY will face Calne Town Reserves in the final of the Gooding Accounts-sponsored Spring Cup on Saturday, May 4 after a convincing 7-0 win over Melksham Town A in their semi-final.

Melksham got off to the worst possible start, having Jack Woolsgrove sent off after 10 minutes, and Heytesbury took full advantage with first-half goals from Dan Dicks, Brendon Hind and Sam Wright.

Craig Sheppard pushed Heytesbury further clear from the spot in the second half before strikes from Ash Kinkead, Liam Gibbens and Ik Ichiebuka brought up the magnificent seven.