CALNE Bowls Club are staging a celebration match in memory of Pauline Watson on their green at the town’s Recreation Ground this Saturday against Wiltshire Ladies (2pm).

Watson, who died in December 2012, was one of the founder members of the ladies section at Calne in 1962 and a stalwart member of the club for 50 years.

She had been Wiltshire Ladies president in 2000 and was due to be the county’s lady president again this year.

“Pauline was planning to have this match against the county ladies anyway,” said Calne president and secretary George Henderson. “We therefore thought it was still appropriate to hold the match but as a celebration game in memory of her.”

Watson during her long membership of the Calne club had held the positions of president, captain and committee member.

As the Calne club do not have 24 lady playing members available they will field a team against Wiltshire Ladies of 13 club members and 11 guest players.

TEAMS CALNE - Jane Bowker-Praed, Sue Buckland, June Burry, Ann Chatwin, Christine Cooper (c), Sheila Isaac, Mavis Jenkins, Gill Rickards, Dorothy Ross, Margaret Roughly, Jean Spence, Sheila Taylor and Gladys Webster plus 11 guests - Marguerite Alexander, Ruth Body (both Devizes), Delia Godwin (Spencer Melksham), Eileen Holdway, Gillian Lillicrap (both Bradford-on-Avon), Mary Jones (Devizes), Sue Raymond, Yvonne Savin (both Chippenham Town), Pat Sharp (Amesbury), Joan Tugwell (Trowbridge Westbourne) and Irene Wood (Holt).

WILTSHIRE - Rink 1: June Coyle (North Wilts), Jenny Couch (S Melksham), Pat Murray (Wootton Bassett) & Margaret Annetts (Salisbury). Rink 2: Viv Baskerville, Isobel Dawson (both Chip T), Wendy Gaisford (Dev) & Mary Buckle (Ames). Rink 3: Rose Ellis (Ames), Rosemary Fitzpatrick (Chip T), Cathy Burrows (Wilton) & June Corbett (Swindon Town Gardens). Rink 4: Ann Hindley (Wilton), Sue Baker (Cricklade), Jill Webb (Wroughton) & Marcia Cottle (S Melksham). Rink 5: Eileen Hawker (S Melk), Dawn Edwards (Avon), Nancy Oliver (Sal) & Fizz Mace (NW). Rink 6: Christobel Francis (S Melk), Joyce Litherland (NW), Irene Button (Chip T) & Joan Coleman (Ames).