A Wiltshire councillor has resigned following his election last month as the MP for Broxtowe in Nottinghamshire.

Darren Henry, the Tory ward member for Till and Wylye Valley, has become the MP for Broxtowe in Nottinghamshire, after beating the constituency’s former MP Anna Soubry.

Wiltshire Council leader, Cllr Philip Whitehead, said: "Given his commitments, this was a sensible decision.

"I'd like to thank Darren for all his hard work in Wiltshire over the last few years and wish him all the best for the future.

"A unitary by-election will take place in due course for the Till and Wylye Valley division and details of that will be confirmed soon."

Cllr Robert Yuill and Cllr Mike Hewitt will handle queries and information related to Till and Wyle Valley until a by-election is held.

Mr Henry won the Nottinghamshire seat with 26,602 votes, beating the Labour candidate Greg Marshall with 21,271, and Anna Soubry, of the Independent Group for Change, with 4,668.