The level of restrictions in place for Swindon and Wiltshire under the new tier system have been confirmed. 

Boris Johnson set out the three-tier system to the House of Commons yesterday.

MPs will debate and vote on the measures today and it will come into effect on tomorrow.

Despite rising cases in Swindon and the wider county, which is above 40 cases per 100,000 people, both will be at the lowest level of restriction - tier one or 'medium alert'.

This means national measures apply:

  • 10pm curfew for pubs, bars and restaurants.
  • Rule of Six - gatherings of more than six banned except for under certain circumstances such as weddings and funerals.

Restrictions will be kept under review.

What would it mean if we moved up a level? 

Tier two or 'high alert' means:

  • Household mixing is banned indoors, although support bubbles will still be permitted, while the rule of six will continue to apply outdoors.

Most areas which are already subject to local restrictions will move to this level, according to the Prime Minister.

Which areas are in this level?


– Cheshire West and Chester

– Cheshire East

Greater Manchester

– Manchester

– Bolton

– Bury

– Stockport

– Tameside

– Trafford

– Wigan

– Salford

– Rochdale

– Oldham


– Warrington


– High Peak – the wards of: Tintwistle, Padfield, Dinting, St John’s, Old Glossop, Whitfield, Simmondley, Gamesley, Howard Town, Hadfield South and Hadfield North


– Lancashire

– Blackpool

– Preston

– Blackburn with Darwen

– Burnley

West Yorkshire

– Leeds

– Bradford

– Kirklees

– Calderdale

– Wakefield

South Yorkshire

– Barnsley

– Rotherham

– Doncaster

– Sheffield

North East

– Newcastle