FIVE new clubs joining the Trowbridge & District League means 23 teams will battle it out next season, with 11 in each of the two divisions.

Also announced at league’s annual meeting at Wesley Road Club was that Trowbridge Windows & Conservatories will continue their sponsorship they have provided since 2010-11.

League president Ian Hibberd and vice chairman Phil Senior presented the awards as Adam Bewley took the Eddie Meaden prize as the best upcoming new or young referee.

Julian Sattin, who has been refereeing on the league for 25 years, picked up the John McMackin award for his efforts this season.

Greyhound secretary Andy Curtis was named secretary of the year award by league registration secretary Roxi Meaden after his first season in the role.

Second division winners Holt Dudley Cradock Sportsmanship Award and a cheque for £100, as did Calne Eagles who topped Division One.

Stockton & Codford provided the best assistant referee in Division One, while the overall winner was Matt Rusling, from Holt.

Dave Percival, of Freshford United, and Craig Sheppard, of Heytesbury, were rewarded for their goal-scoring feats, Percival scoring 20 in Freshford’s title-winning campaign while Sheppard set Division Two alight with 26 in just 10 league outing but 62 in total in 23 league and cup games.

The 2018/19 campaign will kick off on September 1, with champions Freshford United joined by newly-promoted Holt and Heytesbury, Calne Eagles, Hilperton United, Luxol St Andrews, Melksham Town A, Semington Magpies, Stockton & Codford, Three Daggers and Warminster Town Reserves joining them.

Division Two welcomes five new sides, Calne Town Reserves, Lambrok Rangers, Marshfield, Spencers and Warminster United, alongside Aces FC, Greyhound, The Stiffs, Trowbridge Town Reserves, Trowbridge Wanderers Development and Zeals.


Dudley Cradock Sportsmanship awards - Division One: 1 Calne Eagles, £100; 2= Freshford United and Westbury United Development £75; Division Two: 1 Holt FC, £100; 2 The Stiffs, £75; 3 Heytesbury.

Overall winners: Holt.

Club Linesman’s awards - Division One: Stockton & Codford; Division Two and overall winners: Holt.

Eddie Meaden Referees award: Adam Bewley

John McMackin Referees award: Julian Sattin

Club Secretary’s award: Andy Curtis (Greyhound)

Top goalscorer awards - Division One: Dave Percival (Freshford United); Division Two: Shaun Sheppard ( Heytesbury).